After a week of dreadful financial news this Thanksgiving weekend (Canadian) turned out to be pretty good. Maybe it is the anticipation of another long winter, or the need to take our minds away from all the stress created by economic factors we can’t control, or the realization that somehow our lifestyles may be affected in the months to come, but we had to shake it all out of our system. My family and I took this couple of days to enjoy the outdoors in their splendid fall colours, taking long strolls through amazing hidden gems just outside of the city, along the neighbourhood and what I decided many years ago was my favourite spot in this great city of Toronto.

Being a global citizen one of the many thoughts that crossed my mind over the last few days was that if things get really bad one can always adapt to new realities, new geographies and in the end a way of life is always found. But after going through this soul-detox weekend it became clear that pessimistic views of the future can only be damaging. If we want to live in a better world where a few greedy corporations can’t take us all down there is a lot of work to do, if we want to have the right to live in such great cities (I know I do) we have to start by creating mechanisms that allow them to make the best out of limited resources and leverage those that make them unique. For a moment I could see myself trying to settle in a new city, as if there was escape to this crisis, but the prevailing attitude is to fight to make sure a few years down the road we’re still here, enjoying glorious weekends strolling around these streets.

This blog has seen many interesting ideas flourish. It seems now is the best time to start finding ways to realize them.